Everything is kicking into high gear around here. I’ll be leaving for China in just a few short days. I’ve got my bags all packed and I’m more excited about the trip every day. To prepare for the trip over the last few weeks, I’ve been trying to pick up a bit of Chinese. I’m no Confucius, but I think I’m starting to get the hang it.

I wrote the conversation below in Pinyin (basically Chinese writing spelled in the Roman alphabet) over my lunch break a few days ago.

Although it’s only a page, I feel like I cover a lot of ground here – the characters discuss their names, what country they come from, what day it is, and if they like Chinese food. I’ll admit, though, it ends rather abruptly. Person 1 asks person 2  what time the train comes. Since I can’t tell time in Chinese yet, person 2 replies “I don’t understand. Goodbye!”

I sure hope P1 doesn’t miss his train.

 

I’m not 100% sure which websites will be available when I’m abroad, but I’ll do my best to keep you all updated. Thanks for checkin’ in.

 

