Ever eaten at Oklahoma Joe’s? I hadn’t until earlier this week. According to one Anthony Bourdain, OK Joe’s is one of 13 places to eat before you die. Hear that?! I’m 1/13th of the way there. That’s a whole 7.69% of the way done, folks!

I better slow down…I’m apt to get ahead of myself.

My company has an office down in Kansas City. One of the things that everybody in Kansas raves about is this BBQ restaurant in a gas station. It seems my co-workers are not the only ones giving this restaurant two sauce-coated thumbs up. Chad Ochocinco’s been spotted there, Joe’s been featured on food network, and rumor has it that the Commander-in-chief himself orders carry-out from OK Joe’s whenever possible. I hear even pigs like Joe’s BBQ.

When I flew down to meet with a few of our Kansas colleagues earlier in the week, I had to give it a try.  After a short wait in a long line (thanks, speedy cooks) I was sinkin’ my teeth into the Z-man, an Oklahoma Joe’s classic. I used to think that all barbecue was created equal, but no longer. I’ve never been one to choose favorites, but I gotta say, Joe’s certainly gave Roscoe’s and Famous Dave’s a run for their money.

Of course, there was slightly more to the trip  to Kansas City than just eating at barbecue restaurants, but this was definitely one of the highlights.

Yep. You know what they say – there’s no better combo than reinsurance and barbecue.

