There are two things you need to know about me: 1) I’m graduating in a week, and 2) I just got a job. A real job. A real person job – like the kind that actual adults have. That means I a real person now.

I feel kind of like a scared version of Pinocchio.

For a while there, I felt as if I had been swallowed a figurative ‘Monstro’ of responsibilties to make sure I could keep my head above water after graduation. But, the similarities go further than that.

I mean, Pinocchio and I are generally smiley people, we have larger than average noses, and we’ve both been transformed into real people. The key difference of course, is that Pinocchio spent his childhood wishing to become a member of the human world, whereas I’ve tried to make a concerted effort to delay my emergence into the grown-up world.

But, I suppose now is as good of a time as any to admit I’m not a kid anymore. I’m just glad that I didn’t have to have that frightening roller coaster ride where I make an ass of myself first.

Truth be told, I’m thrilled to have gotten the job and I’m excited to see where these post-college years will lead me. I’ve still got finals and whatnot, but I’ll keep the updates coming. Thanks for checkin’ in.

Oh, and PS…

The job is with a re-insurance broker here in the Twin Cities. I’ll be using my econ degree to do risk analysis, along with various other number crunching tasks.

My family was a crucial part of finding this job, so I’d just like to send out a big shout out to all you Jiminy Crickets who helped me with the job hunt. Thanks, dudes!

