Well dear readers, it’s been a stressful couple of days, but I’m readjusting myself for my final year of college. I’ve got Economics courses out the wazoo. Much like the Grinch, I was unable to stop Christmas classes from coming.

The first day I was anxious about my new schedule, and needlessly concerned about not knowing anyone in my classes. Honestly, I felt as if I was a Freshman all over again. Free food at the newly opened Hanson Hall eased my frustrations, and my nervousness abated upon running into my good friend Antoni, fresh off the plane from his recent travels to France and Argentina.

I met up with him later that evening to take in a soccer match at Augsburg between U of M Morris and “the Augies.” We got ourselves a little Mesa after the game and reminisced about those proverbial “ol’ times” in Venezuela.

Although running into Antoni on the first day of classes was fortunate, that isn’t to say there wasn’t the occasional hitch in my giddy-up. I came into town a few days ago to find that the side view mirror had been swiped off of my car while it had been so innocently parked across the street from a Minneapolis church. Things were not as bad as they could have been, however, as the “perp” was considerate and left their name and number. Hooray for good people!

We can rebuild her. We have the technology

As someone who believes that people are inherently good – and as someone who loves being right – the fact that said “perp” cared enough to leave a note makes me happy. Phone calls were made and the appropriate resources have been contacted. Gretta had an appointment to see the car doctor today.

Yours truly, and Gretta the Jetta

 

I got hooked up with a rental car for the time being. It’s a Monte Carlo. I was thinking about calling him “Montgomery,” but it seems a little too easy. I think that it may be best not just to give it a name, since we’ll only be spending a short while together.

Speaking of doing stuff, Sunday’s move in process went quite well. The place I’m living in wasn’t exactly as I remembered it when we toured it, but it gets a little homier every time I come home after class. I may not have furniture yet, but at least my kitchen can testify to the fact that someone lives here.

Sorry it took me so long to update! Thanks for holding out!

