I saw Machu Picchu yesterday. For those of you who don´t know what it is, Machu Picchu is an Inca city which the Spanish conquistadors never found – the ruins of which still survive today. Peru has a very large percentage of its indigineous peoples represented in the population. I believe moreso than any other country in the world. The point being, Machu picchu is pretty sweet, and a pretty big deal to the nation of Peru. It was recently named one of the new wonders of the world.

Based smack dab in the middle of a mountain range, Machu Picchu is a city constructed nearly entirely of stone and dirt. Andy and I saw it from afar on a climb the previous day called Putucusi, which was probably at some point an Incan trail. Andy managed to slip on a ladder on the way back down, giving us both quite a scare as we envisioned what could have happened if his feet had not found the small patch of land jutting out from the side of a cliff. But, no worries, he was fine, just a little dirty and scraped up.

I saw some fantastic things the next day in Machu Picchu, but due to a faulty memory card in my digital camera I have absolutely no pictures of my experience there. It´s a bummer, but I can still borrow some pictures from Andy and we´ll go from there.

In other news, the Venezuelan constitutional reforms got voted down. Yay!

Andy and I are heading back to Cuzco today, after being stuck for nearly three whole days in a town with nothing better to do than fleece money from the wallets of tourists. We won´t have a lot of time in Cuzco, but I´m hoping to run into some friends I made during our two day stay there. After that, it´s off to Lima again for almost an entire day. We´re planning on hitting up the Pacific beach while we´re there before hopping on a flight back to Mérida the next day.

I´ll update again when I´m back in Mérida. Thanks for reading up on me.

