Apparently I look like Harry Potter in other countries, too. The other night we went out to a discoteca. Everybody was having a good time. I could tell that nobody in Venezuela dance quite like myself or the other US Americans I was dancing with. Later, a salsa song came on, and a Venezuelan dude gave me his wife’s hand and she backlead me through the whole dance. I thought that I at least knew the salsa basic, but nobody here dances it like I learned it. They count it simply 1, 2, 3, but nobody actually dances it with only three steps.

After her repeating “Mas Suave” at me several times, I sort of got the hint that despite constant reassurance from her husband, I am not a good dancer. I spoke with the couple later that night. As it turns out, the man’s name was Elianse (I think) and his wife was Laura. They were vacationing in Merida for a few days, and he was practicing his english with me and teaching me a few spanish words all the while.

That was two nights ago. Yesterday was a huge day. We went on an all day excursion to a coffee farm, some weird green lake, and a place called los bailadores (which means dancers) that had a beautiful and wonderfully cold waterfall. Here in Merida the climate is awesome. It rains a little bit every day, but for the most part, it’s around 75-ish all the time.

Of course from that last paragraph, my day doesn’t sound so huge, but in conjunction with the crazy bus ride and the salsa dancing on the constantly swerving bus, it was a lot ot take in.
I started classes today. I was supposed to have 2 classes today, but one was cancelled, because the teachers had a meeting in Caracas to go to. No one had a class schedule before they got to school today. It’s a little strange, but since it’s not as uptight as the US, it’s all gravy, baby.

On the plus side, I did finally get my cell phone this afternoon, but I need to charge it up and buy a phone card. I’ll have to do that tomorrow. It’s pretty cheap to use the big telecommunications stores here, so I don’t know if I’ll end up making international calls with it or just sending texts to my buds here.

I’m hurting for some Venezuelan friends right now. I just don’t have the knack for makin’ friends and I get all flustered when I try to talk to new people in another language. We had our first Nuevos Encuentros today, where the US Americans chat it up with the Venezuelans. It was okay, but like all the forced discussions in another language, it was boring just as often as it was exciting.

The buses here are great. At least the ones by my apartment are. Always speedy, I never have had to wait for more than 4 minutes or so. Everyone here drives crazy. I don’t know why though, because it’s not like anyone really cares if someone else is late. It’s not unusual to have to wait a while to meet someone.

